Back To Top

Webinar

Multiple ion beam microscopy for advanced nanofabrication

News about Carl Zeiss Microscopy

 

 

Register Here

Webinar

Multiple ion beam microscopy for advanced nanofabrication

Friday, February 15th, 2013 | 4pm CET / 3pm GMT / 10am US eastern time

The advance of nanotechnology requires fabrication techniques that can produce functional features on ever-smaller length scales. Techniques such as focused ion beam (FIB) microscopy are widely used in materials science to image surfaces and produce features on the nanoscale.

In FIB, a beam of ions is scanned across a sample surface, and the material which sputters from the surface is detected in order to form an image. Due to the removal of material from the surface by sputtering, the ion beam etches out features in the sample surface which may be directed in the desired pattern.

The strive for decreasing feature sizes in plasmonic research, lithography, semiconductor technology and materials development leads to a need for instruments that enable rapid prototyping of such structures and simultaneous high resolution imaging for process control. The new gas-field ion-source technology (GFIS) offers the capability of combining atom-probe sized helium and neon ion beams (multiple ion beams) in one system for exactly these purposes. By adding a gallium FIB column, the request for high ablation rates is also addressed and completes the nanofabrication length scale from micrometers to below 10 nanometers.

The webinar explains the technology, presents first application results from leading research and applied science and gives an outlook on the potential of the technology.

 

 

Wir verwenden Cookies auf dieser Website. Cookies sind kleine Textdateien, die von Websites auf Ihrem Computer gespeichert werden. Cookies sind weit verbreitet und helfen Seiten optimiert darzustellen und zu verbessern. Durch die Nutzung unserer Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. mehr

OK